I’m taking a break from all of my Supernatural pieces to do a couple of Gilmore Girls shrines. So much fun! I always forget how much I love that show until I get to work on something like this, where all the little details come forth.

 

IMG_20160729_095732

I’m the first to admit the photography is a liiiitle rough here, but it’s actually really hard to capture the brush strokes and textures without having it look like a giant mess.Both pieces are painted in the style of VanGogh’s Starry Night, to represent the girls’ hometown, Stars Hollow.

In the foreground is the mini shrine I’m working on – it’s Altoid-tin sized, so, about 2×3 (roughly). That means lots of small elements! I’m eager for the challenge, though. This one will be available in my Etsy shop within the next few days.

In the background is the larger shrine – it’s constructed out of a hardcover copy of Anna Karenina, one of Rory’s favorite books. I’ll spare you the sight of the inside right now, but if all goes according to plan, it will be really cool. This is a commission, but if you find yourself in lust with it, I’m happy to make another.

Stay tuned for updates – I hope to have these finished by the end of the weekend!

