I love movie trailers. I love television show previews. And I love getting to sneak a peek at other peoples’ art processes. One of my goals with this blog is to share my process with everyone – especially since I’m not classically trained in any way.

So that said, here is a sneak peek at my current painting (I use the word “painting” very loosely).

painting sneak peek

I love using different and unusual materials in my work, as you can tell by this picture (that dog hair on the right totally doesn’t count, I promise). This is just a loose layout so far. I’m hesitant to start glueing things down until I can be sure that I will have all the lily petals I need to complete this section of the painting.

And, I’ll totally cop to the fact that I’m having some artist’s block. It’s not that I don’t know what I want to do next or how to finish the painting, oh no, it couldn’t be that easy. It’s that I’m so scared of screwing it up that I’m afraid to start! Does anyone else ever feel that way? I can’t be the only one. If you ever question yourself like that, what do you do to jump that hurdle and dive into your work?

