You know how some blogs (and bloggers) are the picture of perfection? Nothing ever goes wrong with their craft, there’s never a mess and everything looks completely beautiful throughout the whole process.

I’m not one of those bloggers. I believe in sharing my failures (and there are many) along with my successes (there are a few of those, too, luckily). And do I have a doozy of a failure to share with you today.

Inspired by this post, I decided to try my hand at carving my own Christmas balls. Armed with my trusty Dremel, tons of different bits, and a bucketload of discount ornaments from Target, I set out to replicate those really cool skulls.

christmas crafting

I thought with one of the smaller sanding bits, I could just bore a hole into one small spot and then use the side of the bit to sand my way through the outline. Unfortunately, Christmas balls don’t work that way. There was some minor success, but eventually the ball cracked in half, every single time. I tried taping the outside, which showed great promise, until I realized it was only holding the cracks together. I tried using gel medium on the outside and got much the same result. In the end, this is what I ended up with:

Christmas balls

A big fat mess!

But don’t worry, I haven’t given up – yet. There are a few other thoughts circling my brain including using glass etching medium, a flat-head pin to tap my way around the outline, and coating the inside of the balls with some sort of glue or medium, perhaps even latex paint.

If you have any ideas for me, please share! This will either be the coolest craft so far in 2014 or the messiest. Or both.

